Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: My Shallow Reef Build

My Shallow Reef Build 2 years 6 months ago #32901

• iFrizk.Spataro
  • Beyond frags
  • Thank you received: 31
My 210 gallon Shallow Reef :)

This is my first build thread. I've wanted to do one before just never took the time. 

Little history lesson first. My first saltwater tank was a full reef ready Oceanic 90 Gallon bow front.  I bought it used, and came with everything ready to go.  An older AquaC EV-180 protein skimmer that came with a MAG drive 7. The lighting it came with was a set of IceCap ballast to go with the VHO lights. So it was great for the time being. 

But as time went on I swapped out my standard 90 gallon with built in overflows from a fresh water to a saltwater and then my bow front from salt to fresh water. I did this because I liked the look of saltwater in the standard tank better. For any Fresh water people out there it was a group of 22 Tropheus moorii Chaitika aka (Blue Rainbows) it was a beautiful group of fish.

Onto to the next stage of my saltwater journey was a little jump to a 265 gallon tank that I replaced my 180 gallon mix Cichlid tank with that was mostly peacocks.  At this time I sold all of my livestock as well as the tank and moved forward into the largest TANK I've owned as well as the largest saltwater tank I had kept. Going from the 90 gallon reef to the 265 gallon reef.

Now onto my next build which is what this thread is about. My 210 gallon shallow build. I've always thought the shallow builds were really interesting, and if done right they are great looking tanks.  There are quite a few on Reef Central that are really amazing, and I'm looking forward to seeing the end results with my shallow build.